The Anointing at Bethany (Mary’s POV)

It’s been a busy week and this is shorter than usual but as promised, here it is!

*~From the house of God’s grace~*


It was six days before the Passover and Jesus, the Son of Man was having supper with us, in Simon the Leper’s house. Jesus was special to us. I would never forget that day when He raised my brother, Lazarus from the grave. It was something I would remember for the rest of my life. We’d all been grief-stricken but then Jesus came, full of love and hope and raised Lazarus from the dead. That wasn’t too long ago. But now, he was supping with us and Lazarus, healthy as ever, sat at the table with Jesus and His disciples.

Martha, hospitable as always, busied herself serving the people, but I had other things on my mind. In my possession was an alabaster flask containing about a pound of fragrant spikenard oil. It was sealed to preserve the oil and keep the fragrance, but it was now time for the seal to be broken and the oil to be put to a specific purpose. Many times Jesus spoke of His coming death, and I understood that it was necessary for Him to do so, that He would willingly give His life to forgive me of my sins. I could not doubt the Son of Man’s words. It would come to pass and I had only one desire in my heart.

Taking a deep breath, I clutched the flask in my hand and entered the room. Conversation flowed freely but I tried not to let it bother me as I neared my precious Jesus. It was difficult to break the alabaster jar and at once, the fragrance was released. Slowly, I anointed Jesus with it, pouring it on His head and on His feet, using my hair to wipe the limbs that brought Good News to the different towns. I wanted to show my love and my devotion to my Saviour, anointing him as was custom preparation for burial. He was also a King, the one person worthy of such a costly oil, and a Priest, anointed for a purpose.

But a voice made me pause in my ministrations. One of Jesus’ disciples, Judas Iscariot if I remembered correctly, spoke. “Why was this fragrant oil wasted? It could have been sold for three hundred denarii and given to the poor.”

My heart stopped in my chest, my breath held. Three hundred denarii was about a year’s wages. I wasn’t denying that I didn’t know the value of the oil. Indeed, I knew how expensive and valuable it was and it was because of that reason that I wanted to anoint Jesus with it. The Son of Man deserved the very best and I was doing all I could do, all I was capable of doing. He was about to die for the sins of the world and all I wanted to do was worship Him and show my love for Him.

I didn’t need to worry about defending myself though. My Saviour was speaking. “Let her alone. Why do you trouble her? She has done a good work for Me. She has kept this for the day of My burial. For the poor you have with you always, and whenever you wish you may do them good; but Me you do not have always. In pouring this fragrant oil on My body, she did it for My burial. Assuredly, I say to you, wherever this gospel is preached in the whole world, what this woman has done will also be told as a memorial to her.”

My heart jumped for joy at my Saviour’s words. He knew, understood and accepted what I’d done and that was all I needed. He would die and I would be sad but He’d also spoken of rising again and I trust that the Son of Man would fulfill His words and His promises.

Leave a Reply

