Jesus Walks on Water (POV of disciple)

I had this story in mind but wasn’t sure if I should write it. So, I asked my mum to name me the first one she could think of and she named this one so here you go! 🙂

*~From the house of God’s grace~*


My muscles strained, trying against hope to keep the boat steady as my eyes searched fruitlessly to make shapes out of the darkness. It was the fourth watch of the night, dark as the depths of a whale, and the wind was the strongest I’ve ever seen it be, stirring up the waters of the sea and creating waves that tossed us to and fro. It was all we could do to keep ourselves afloat and from the jaws of a watery death. Where was Jesus? He was the one who insisted we get in the boat and cross the sea but He didn’t come with us. Where is Jesus when you need Him?

A particularly strong wave tilted the boat precariously and my feet tried and failed to keep traction on the soaked wood, sending me toppling over, hands flailing to grab anything to prevent myself from slipping into the tumultuous waves. Before I could get my balance, another wave came from a different direction and towered over the boat before crashing down and drenching us in salt water. It was a minute before I could right myself, taking hold of the oar I’d dropped to keep fighting the waves. I was exhausted, every ounce of energy drained trying to keep the twelve of us alive. I could see the other disciples also working hard to keep the boat upright. Where is Jesus?

He’d just fed five loaves and two fish to a crowd of five thousand and I was still boggled by that fact. It was against all logic but I’d been with Jesus long enough to know that the things He said and did were not always logical to the human mind. He was after all, the Son of God, the Messiah, the Saviour of the world. So where was He now, when we need Him?

A cry of horror rang out through the night sky, piercing the crashing sound of the waves. I turned my head and the oar slipped out of my hands at the sight I saw. Fear gripped my heart, making it hard to breathe and only one thought crossed my mind. This is the end. We’re all going to die. There, walking on the water as if the crashing waves were nothing to be concerned about was a figure. Another cry of terror cut the air like a knife and it took me a few seconds to realise that it had come from my throat.

“It is a ghost!”

My heart started beating double time, as if fear injected something to make the muscles thump right out of my body. I picked up the oar and shoved it into the water, desperate to get away from the ghost. Then, another voice sounded over the cacophony. A voice that I recognised.

“Take courage! It is I! Stop being afraid.”

I knew that voice, heard it preaching and talking to the multitudes, heard it booming loud and clear and heard it gentle and kind. It was a voice that brought peace, comfort, wholeness, rest. The voice of the Son of God. Suddenly, the churning waters did not matter so much in His presence. Jesus was walking on water! Such a thing was impossible and yet….here He was, walking in the midst of the sea. I wouldn’t have believed it had I not seen it with my own eyes.

“Lord, if it is really You, command me to come to You on the water.”

My eyes turned and landed on the disciple who had spoken. Peter. Was the man crazy to say such a thing? What in the world world was going through his mind? But Jesus spoke one word.

“Come.”

With wide eyes, I watched as Peter got out of the boat, fully expecting him to sink once his feet touched the water. But he didn’t. He walked towards Jesus as the waves crashed around him. Peter was walking on water! I was rendered speechless as he put one foot in front of the other, step by step towards the Messiah. But then it went wrong. He took his eyes off Jesus and I could see the fear in them as his eyes landed on the angry water. He began to sink. My heart dropped to my feet. Oh no!

“Lord, save me!” Peter cried out.

And Jesus saved him. He extended His hand to Peter, pulling him out of the water. “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”
Those words cut me to the heart and I watched as Jesus led Peter back to the boat. Once they got in, the wind stopped as if exhausted by its own activity. I and the other disciples did not waste any time dropping to our knees and worshiping Jesus in reverence and awe. Truly He is the Son of God, the One on whom we must keep our eyes on, for only He can save us from the storms of life. All praise and glory to Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

