Jesus and the Woman with the Issue of Blood (POV of crowd member)

Not entirely proud of how this turned out but here it is.

*~From the house of God’s grace~*


“Did you hear? Jesus is here!”

“What? Where?”

“Wait! Who’s Jesus?”

“You don’t know? He’s the guy who has been healing people and casting out demons!”

“He’s just come back from across the sea, from the country of the Gadarenes!”

“Let me through! I wanna see!”

“There He is! Move out of my way!”

A loud cheer went up and I inferred that Jesus’ boat had arrived, though I couldn’t quite see much. The multitudes swarmed around the single man and His twelve disciples, pushing and shoving their way through in an effort to get close to the one who proclaimed he was the Son of God. And I was in the midst of the surge of people. I’d heard of the works and words of this Jesus, how He’d healed people and cast demons out – word had it that he’d just cast a legion of demons out from a man in Gadarene – and how He taught the people. His teaching was different, way different than what the Pharisees and Sadducees taught. It was revolutionary, daring and refreshing. I wanted to see and hear Him for myself.

Suddenly the crowd quieted, confused, I looked around and started questioning people around me.

“What’s happening?”

“Jairus is here! He’s talking to Jesus.”

But I was too far back and couldn’t hear a thing. The crowd started moving though, and I followed the current, soon learning that Jairus, the ruler of the synagogue had asked Jesus to heal his sickly daughter. This would be interesting. I would get to see this Jesus do a miracle.

“Excuse me,” I called, trying to get a glimpse of the Man while striving to avoid getting crushed from the masses around me.

I squeezed my way through, getting nasty glances from those I managed to brush past. I ignored them, so intent was I on getting closer to the one whom everyone said was the promised Messiah Moses and the prophets of old spoke about, the one who would save the Jews. I caught a glimpse of Him for a short while before He disappeared in the sea of people.

“Excuse me!” I repeated once again, trying to nudge my way through. I got past a few people before finally managing to get Him permanently in my line of sight. With a smile on my face, I was about to draw closer when Jesus suddenly stopped and turned around, His piercing gaze searching the crowd behind Him.

“Who touched me?” came His strong yet somehow gentle voice.

What? What do you mean who touched you? Everybody is pushing against you! I thought. Looks like the guy who always had wise words to say wasn’t so wise after all.

“What do you mean ‘who touched me’? Do you not see the mass of people shoving and pressing against you?” one of His disciples voiced my thoughts.

Jesus wasn’t deterred by His disciple though and kept a firm stance. “No. Someone touched Me for I felt power flowing out of Me,” He responded, His gaze gentle.

I was really confused by this. What power?

“It was me, my Lord.”

A woman stepped forward, her head bowed and her voice full of awe. She came near to Jesus and fell to her knees, bowing before Him.

To say I was shocked would be an understatement. This woman had a reputation for being unclean for twelve years, having a flow of blood.The law commanded that she remind people she was unclean so they would not touch her, and she in turn wasn’t allowed to touch anyone. Everybody knew to stay away from her, to not touch her lest they too, became unclean.

But she’d touched Jesus, someone proclaiming to be the Son of God. Did that mean He was now unclean? How would He respond to her? But she wasn’t done speaking yet.

“My Lord, I have suffered from a flow of blood for twelve years,” she said. “I have been to every physician, spent all my money on trying to get well but it just got worse. Then I heard you were here and I said to myself, ‘if I touch You, even if it is just the hem of your clothes, I will be healed’. And when I did, I was immediately healed and free from my suffering.”

My eyes snapped up to see Jesus’ response. The crowd had fallen silent, holding its breath in anticipation like that second before the waves rush to meet the shoreline. What would He say?

“Daughter, be of good cheer. Your faith has made you well. Go in peace,” Jesus said.

And it was in that moment that I knew this Man truly was the Son of God. Who else could heal with just a touch? Who else would not condemn an unclean woman from touching Him? Who else could reverse the penalties of the Law of Moses? Who else but the Son of God, the promised Messiah. 

Leave a Reply

