Psalm 139 (Reader Submission) [Poem]

Editor note: Though the following work is not a story, we decided to include it and post it up because we liked it a lot. 😀 For those who don’t know, the meaning of the word ‘redintegrate’ is “restore (something) to a state of wholeness, unity, or perfection.” Do read it all the way to the end! 🙂 We’ve included part of the email blurb that we felt explained it well, although there was no actual author’s note.

*~From the house of God’s grace~* & ~Ele♥ra

This is a reversible poem I wrote based on Psalm 139. It was Holy Spirit inspired and I guess you could say from my point of view.

Credits go to Mel.


I am a waste of space.
It is not true that
I have been fearfully and wonderfully made.
The matter of fact is
I am nothing special.
Why would I believe that
My days are all ordained.
I can guarantee that
Nobody is interested in me.
It’s stupid to think
I was knitted together in my mother’s womb.
For I know that
I am worthless.
A lie that makes no sense is that
There is meaning to life.
My life has no purpose.
And I scoff at people who say
I was made for a reason.
For the truth is
I am an accident
Fibbing would be to say
God formed my every inward part.
I have confidence that
I can hide from God.
How can I say
His works are marvelous.
My soul knows
I am too far gone;
There is no possible way
He knows when I sit and when I rise.
Of course
He has left me alone.
It’s a fabrication to say
He is acquainted with all my ways.
Everyone knows
I have been abandoned.
Only those misinformed would surmise
His hand leads me and holds me.
My heart is confident that
The darkness can hide me from His sight.
And foolishness is to presume
God cares.
I can only conclude that
He wants nothing to do with me.
Only idiots would say
God’s thoughts towards me outweigh the grains of sand.
I’ve been assured
I am unlovable.
And I refuse to believe that
I have immense value.

And then, God stepped in and is redintegrating me – changing my entire perspective on life – and I saw things in a whole new light… Now reverse the order and read it from bottom to top!

Leave a comment