Spies in Jericho (Rahab’s POV)

Truth be told, I started this story fully intending it to be a retelling of the feeding of the five thousand. However, about two lines in, I wrote the sentence about reputation. I was rather confused and I went, “Wait, what reputation? You’re just some random guy on a hill…” and the ‘voice’ of the story replied, “No, I’m Rahab.”

It was, no doubt, all rather confusing to me. The story, therefore, sort of wrote itself, though I edited it since to give more context. I’ve never tried this format before and I don’t really know what it is – a monologue? A weird first/second person love child? – but I quite enjoyed writing it, and I hope you enjoy reading it, too! 🙂

~ Ele♥ra


 

Hello, you two. What brings you to my place? I am but one of many in this city. In fact, I doubt you’ll even remember my face if I pass you by, for I am not memorable. There are those that know me by name, of course; my reputation isn’t one that is unknown. Indeed, you might not know my face, but I am sure that you’ve heard my name. It’s… What is that you said? You don’t care about reputations? Oh. Well, come in then, Isuppose. I have not much to offer you – a little bread, some water, a place to rest yourselves, perhaps, if you do not mind the hard floor.

Come, sit. Let me serve you something light. My, aren’t you fellars looking tired! You’re not from around here, are you. Where might you have… Oh, you’re the spies, aren’t you. Don’t tell me otherwise; I can see it in your faces. Why have you come to me? No, wait, don’t answer. I don’t want to know.

Stop. Don’t follow me. I need time to think, please. You know they’re offering rewards for your capture, do you not? Yes, of course you do. Tell me, then, do you not realise the position you’re placing me in? Am I supposed to shelter you when turning you in could bring me fortune like I have never seen? I need time to think. Let me go, please.

Okay, I’ve made up my mind. Before you say anything, I want you to know this wasn’t easy. Trust me, I’ve weighed all my options. As you can see, I have little to my name. I’m sure by now you’ve realised what I am – what I do. I’m not proud, believe me, but I have no other option. All you people with your big talk of me wasting my life and there being more for me out there, judging me from where you stand – tell me, what does it mean when it’s you that seek me out at the end of a long day?

You knew? From the start? Oh, okay. That… That changes things. Well, it’s true. How did you – oh, I see. Your God, huh? Well, if He truly is all that He says He is… Yes, yes, I’ve heard the stories. There’s no need to preach, young man. We’ve all heard them; why do you think we’re so afraid? If half of what they’re saying is the truth, we don’t stand a chance. Yet here you are, at the house of a prostitute.

Alright, fine. I’ll let you stay. There’s a spare room over here, though I warn you now there’s not much in there for comfort. Here, I’ll show you the way. No, you’re safe here; I won’t let anyone in while you stay, customer or not. Get some rest.

Wake up, quickly! There are guards outside. Come on, get up. You’ve rested long enough. Grab your things, come on! Follow me. Over here, up the stairs. Hurry, I’ve told them I was changing, but they’ll get suspicious soon. Here, I have many stalks of flax laid out on my roof; hide under them, and you’ll be safe. I’ll be back as soon as I’ve dealt with the guards. Don’t move or call out till you hear from me. Quiet, now, and stay still. No, I won’t tell them. I give you my word.

Hello? Are you still here? Oh, there you are. Good. I thought you’d run on me. Here, let me help you up. The guards are gone now. I told them you had left the city and sent them on a wild goose chase, but they’re not as dumb as they look; they’ll be back soon enough. Let me ask you something – are you so certain that your army is strong enough to take Jericho? Even with the walls?

Yes. I know the stories. If they are true, then I know that the Lord has given this land to you. Please, take an oath. I have shown you kindness; will you not return that? When you return to take the city, I beg of you to show kindness to me and my family in return.

I know it’s a lot to ask, but – oh, you will? How will your people know who I… A red cloth, you say? I… Yes, I understand. We’ll all be here on that day. Tie it to the window, right? What odd instructions you both give to me, but I trust you. Funny thing to say to spies, really, but I believe that your God is who you say He is – I only hope that I haven’t placed my trust in the wrong people. You’ll keep your word, won’t you? Yes, of course I’ll keep mine, too. I promise on my life and the life of my family that I won’t tell a soul about either of you. Why would I, when it means I helped the spies escape? I would pay for my life; if not by them, by you when you return.

There – did you hear that? They’ve just closed the gates to the city. Come, follow me. I’ll help you get out of here. Now, can you climb? You can? Good. Over here, to my room. See out there? My house is built into the wall itself, right at the city’s edge; climb down from my window and you’ll be outside. Hold on tight to the rope and be quick, before anyone sees you. It’s a good thing you chose my house, even if I am… What’s that, sorry? God directed you here?

You know, after all the stories I’ve heard, I don’t find that hard to believe at all. Your God truly must be the one true Lord. Come, the sun has set. You should go now, while it is dark. Oh, me? Like I said before, I’m not that memorable – just a nobody – but if you really want to know, my name’s Rahab. Now go, and may your God be with you.

Leave a Reply

